Home   Sport   Article

PICTURES: Wheelchair athlete prepares for London Marathon by competing in Moray Road Runners 10k as Kenny Wilson breaks Miltonduff course record for victory

By Craig Christie

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

Moray Road Runners' annual 10k race broke new ground as two athletes - among 118 who raced - prepared for the forthcoming London Marathon in some style.

Wheelchair athlete Joanna Robertson takes on the last stretch of the 2023 Miltonduff 10K...Picture: Beth Taylor.
Wheelchair athlete Joanna Robertson takes on the last stretch of the 2023 Miltonduff 10K...Picture: Beth Taylor.

A wheelchair athlete entered the event for the first time as Aberdeen AAC's Joanna Robertson powered round the undulating Miltonduff route in just over 44 minutes.

Club chairman Gareth Jenkins said: "We hope this paves the way for more wheelchair athletes entering our race in the future."

Wintry showers failed to deter Scottish international marathon runner Kenny Wilson who stormed to victory for the home club in a course record of 30:37, closely followed by two rivals who pushed him all the way.

Shettleston Harriers' Lachlan Oates was eight seconds behind in second with another seven second gap separating the runner-up from third-placed Fraserburgh runner Max Abernethy.

Kenny's brother James was just over a minute further back in fourth, narrowly ahead of Moray Road Runners' team-mate Ben Livesey in fifth. The trio teamed up to win the team prize.

Livesey topped the V40 age category and fellow MRR athletes Graham Stephen (third V40) and Paul Rogan (third V50) earned category podium places.

Leading runners for Forres Harriers were Bruce Evans in eighth (34:51) and Harry Hurst in 16th (36:10).

The women's race was won once again by Inverness Harriers' Jenny Bannerman in 37.01, ten seconds ahead of Aberdeen AAC's Jennifer Donaldson.

Kayleigh Oates was fourth for Moray Road Runners and partnered up with Jess Haworth and Zoe Hayward for the female team victory.

Sally Bruce was second V40 and Elspeth Jenkins came second in V50 to land prizes for the home club.

Kasia Klonowska earned a top ten spot for Forres Harriers and club mate Jackie Nicol won the V60 category, while Paula Boon was third in the ladies' V50 section.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More