Home   Sport   Article

Forres Harriers Masters win gold and silver at North District Cross Country Relays Championship at Nairn while Moray Road Runners feature among the medals

By Craig Christie

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

There was golden glory for Forres Harriers' experienced runners at Saturday's North District cross country relays at Nairn.

Hilary Cameron helped Forres Harriers to Masters gold at the North District cross-country relays at Nairn.
Hilary Cameron helped Forres Harriers to Masters gold at the North District cross-country relays at Nairn.

The Forres trio of Siobhan Evans, Hilary Cameron and Susan McRitchie won the Masters category of the event, while their B team of Carrie-Ann Ward, Paula Boon and Frances Britain came second.

Evans clocked an impressive 15 minutes, 34 seconds on the opening leg while Cameron (15:59) and McRitchie (16:17) ensured a comfortable victory in the Masters event and fourth place overall.

Ward (16:23), Boon (17:31) and Britain (17:55) produced a solid performance for the silver medal.

Moray Road Runners A won the senior women's bronze after getting off to a sensational start.

The Elgin club had a first lap advantage where Kayleigh Oates (13:52) opened up an early lead of almost a minute over Highland Hill Runners' Katie Slimon.

However the north club's Erin McFadden (14:55) brought the teams back round dead level ahead of MRR's Michelle Slater (15:51).

It was left to Forres runner and Scotland international hill racer Kirstie Rogan, competing for Highland Hill Racers to that contest's fastest lap of 13:39 for a cumulative time of 43:22 and the senior women's gold. Emma Murray took Kintore's JSK Running Club into second place (44:33) and Moray won bronze in 44:55, with final runner Susan McNairney finishing in 15:12.

Moray Road Runners' B team of Grace Jenkins, Hannah Stephen and Kayleigh Edwards finished fifth.

In the women's Masters, MRR's A team of Elspeth Jenkins, Anne Hewes and Linda Smith were just pipped to the bronze medal by Peterhead AC.

The MRR Masters B trio of Sally Bruce, Gillian MacAllan and Amanda Strang reached the finish just ahead of Forres harriers' C team of Jackie Nicol, Ros Wright and Frances Russell.

Inverness Harriers just edged out Moray Road Runners in a tense battle for the men's title.

The first 4K lap produced the two fastest times in the entire men's race when Moray's Kenny Wilson ran 11:12, just ahead of Stephen Mackay of Inverness (11:20).

Angus Smith converted that into a one-second Inverness advantage on the second leg as he edged just nine seconds in front of Matt Blunden (11:55).

Inverness' Lucas Cairns widened it to six seconds on lap three, closely followed by Ben Livesey for Moray.

Luke Davidson (11:38) brought Inverness home in 46:16 with Moray 23 seconds adrift in 46:39 after James Wilson clocked 11:55, and Highland Hill Runners were third in 51:57.

Highland Hill Runners took the veteran men's award in 51:57 with Moray Road Runners' Masters A quartet of Gareth Jenkins (12:41), Stephen Carmichael (13:50), John Anderson (13:02) and Colin Green (13:56) claiming silver.

There was a clean sweep of the top two places for Ross County in the 3 x 2.5K boys' race where Rowan Schiller, Andrew Baird, with the fastest time of 7:50, and Ali Young crossed the line first in 26:31, which was 28 seconds clear of their own B team (26:59) with Inverness third in 27:42.

Moray Road Runners were represented in the young male team event by Darren Green, Hunter Richardson and Al Green.

In the girls' race Inverness Harriers' Rosie Conroy, Lois MacRae - with a fastest time of 8:52 - and Katie Meek finished in 28:25 ahead of Stornoway (30:26) and Inverness B (30:55).

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More