Home   Sport   Article

Alan Campbell's Buckie rink edge clear in Moray Province Curling East Division 1

By Bill Jaffrey

Register for free to read more of the latest local news. It's easy and will only take a moment.

Click here to sign up to our free newsletters!

Alan Campbell and his Buckie rink are two for two in the Moray Province East Division 1 League after a comprehensive win over Forres’s Charlie Watt jnr.

Moray Leisure Centre curling. Picture: Daniel Forsyth
Moray Leisure Centre curling. Picture: Daniel Forsyth

Watt’s post game expression was one of bewilderment , reflective of a team unused to losing after serial seasons of League promotion victories. Two single scoring ends against two deuces and two big counts of four against, were the cause of the Forres skip’s demeanour after a 13-2 drubbing.

Not so bewildered but just about as heavily defeated, Wilson Burnett shook hands with Andy Cameron on a 12-4 defeat. Cameron’s Aberlour are last season’s Division 1 champs and their class showed as front end John Sharpe and Lilia Clarke repeatedly set up third player Gavin and Andy Cameron to race to a 6-0 lead after four ends. Burnett and co were never at the races until a well played hack weight take out through a narrow port gave the Fochabers’ skip a consolation 3 at the penultimate end.

The game of the night was undoubtedly the ding dong battle between Mike McDonald and Dave McPherson. Five apiece going into the final end, the Forres team had a good counter pretty well protected and held last stone advantage. Tennis Club skip Roy Thomson just failed to get to the shot stone and McDonald breathed a sigh of relief to edge to his 6-5 win.

Owen Watson’s Juniors played twice in the week, winning a rearranged match against Alan Durno 10-4 but then losing a very tight game against Bob Stewart in a nail biting contest of eight single shot scores. A single steal for Stewart in the fourth end and another single steal at the seventh was enough for the experienced Elgin outfit to notch up their victory.

In Watson’s win over the Durno deputising Mike Watt, a five shot pick up in the opening end set the Juniors up and running before Watt and co came right back into the contest to win the next three ends and trail by just a single shot. That however, was the high water mark for the Fochabers’ rink as Watson then cleaned up the last three ends for a terrific 10-4 victory.

Abby Duncan and Donald Ross took a point each after a gripping 6-6 draw. Ahead 3-0 after two ends, the Fochabers’ lads then gave up a four but went into the final end 6-5 leaders. Sunninghill skip Angus Gunn is not a man to get easily spooked however and with last stone advantage got the single he needed to leave the ice with his share of the points.

Next Tuesday (November 14) sees the playing of the delayed 2023 Moray Province points competition when each club can nominate two members to compete for the Heather Little Trophy, an individual, skill-based throwing of a set of pre-determined curling shots .

Results, Moray Province League East

Division 1

A. Campbell (Buckie) 13 C.Watt jnr (Forres) 2

M. McDonald (Forres) 6 D. McPherson (Elgin Tennis Club) 5

W. Burnett(Fochabers) 4 A. Cameron (Aberlour) 12

Division 2

A. Durno (Fochabers) 4 O. Watson (Moray Juniors) 10

A. Duncan (Fochabers) 6 D. Ross(Sunninghill) 6

O. Watson (Moray Juniors) 3 R. Stewart (Elgin) 5

Moray Province League West

Division 1

R. Greenwood (Ardclach) 6 A. Asher (Nairn) 7

M. McInnes (Nairn) 1 M. Fraser (Dalcross) 13

A. Fraser (Ardclach) 9 L. Kerr(Nairn) 3

Division 2

A. Forbes (Nairn) 7 R. Marwick (Nairn) 9

J. Cattell (Dalcross) 7 F. Steel (Nairn Ladies) 4.

Do you want to respond to this article? If so, click here to submit your thoughts and they may be published in print.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More