Home   Sport   Article

Kinloss players win snooker leagues

By Staff Reporter

Adam Macleod (Div 1 Winner)
Adam Macleod (Div 1 Winner)

The Forres Legion Snooker Singles League 2018/19 sponsored by Ian Mackenzie Joinery concluded this week.

This year saw the league grow to two divisions and attract players from all over Moray with 24 players competing from October 2018 to April 2019.

Division 1 was won by Adam MacLeod (Kinloss) who led from the front winning 9 and drawing 2 of his eleven matches.MacLeod also picked up the high break prize this year with an 82 break and was delighted to regain the title held by Mark Bell (Elgin) from last year.The rest of the top 6 were made up of James McKenzie (Forres) (2nd), Kye Taylor (Kinloss) (3rd), Neil Owen (Burghead) (4th), Andy Legge (Keith) (5th) and Bell (6th).In the lower reaches it was Martin Cumming (Nairn) and Richard Stuart (Elgin) who occupied the relegation places.

Division 2 was dominated by Tommy Smith (Kinloss) who also completed an undefeated season in recording 7 wins and 2 draws.Smith was put under pressure by Doug Taylor (Hopeman) who finished second and the rest of the top 6 were not too far away either.Matty Cole (Forres) finished 3rd which is a great achievement playing his first competitive snooker tournament.Anthony Hinchcliffe (Forres) finished 4th, Kirk Robertson (Findhorn) was 5th and Mark Speroni (Forres) ended up 6th respectively.Gavin Ross (Forres) took home the high break prize for the division with a modest 28.

This format, with no finals day and no handicaps, had proved popular and will likely be retained for next year.

Please see details of the league on our dedicated website https://forressnooker.leaguerepublic.com/l/league/658076028.html or search Forres Snooker on Facebook.

Tommy Smith (Division 2 Winner)
Tommy Smith (Division 2 Winner)

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More