Home   Sport   Article

Forres land big fish in cup draw

By Craig Christie

Contribute to support quality local journalism

FORRES Thistle have drawn Glasgow giants Pollok in the Macron Scottish Junior Cup.

Matty Fraser scores for Forres Thistle.
Matty Fraser scores for Forres Thistle.

The West of Scotland Superleague Premier Division side have won the competition three times and finished runners-up on another three occasions.

They are set to bring a big travelling support to Logie Park for the second round tie on September 28.

Dufftown have also been drawn at home to East Kilbride Thistle, who won the Scottish Junior Cup in 1983.

Deveronside could also welcome previous cup winners to the north, as they will host Govan outfit Benburb if the Glaswegians overcome Maybole in the first round.

New Elgin host another Glasgow team, West Region central Division 2 side St Anthony's.

Bathgate outfit Stoneyburn, who have twice reached the semi-finals, visit Buckie Rovers in the same round.

Burghead Thistle are at home to Fife club Lochgelly while Islavale are on the road to play Arbroath Vics.

Whitehills have been drawn away against a team from their same north second division, Buchan club Longside.

Full second round draw (September 28)

Linlithgow v Fraserburgh United

Stonehaven v Glentanar

Rob Roy v Pumpherston

Carluke v Clydebank

Girvan v Tayport

Scone v Lochee Harp

Lochore v Brechin Vics

Arbroath Vics v Islavale

Dufftown v East Kilbride Thistle

Troon v Montrose Roselea

Perthshire v Broughty

Johnstone v Armadale

Lugar v Newmachar

Dundee North End v Newburgh or Whitburn

Sauchie v Hermes

Maryhill v Forfar West End

Ardeer v Rutherglen

St Rochs v Renfrew

Kirkcaldy & Dysart v Saltcoats

New Elgin v St Anthony's

Gartcairn v Lanark

Dyce Juniors v Sunnybank

East End v Port Glasgow

Maud v Kirriemuir

Blantyre v Muirkirk

Spey Valley United v Lesmahagow

Glenafton v West Calder

Cruden Bay v Banchory St Ternan

Aberdeen University v Dalry Thistle

Ashfield v Colony Park

Livingston United v Shotts Bon Accord

Craigmark v Kilsyth

Fauldhouse v Carnoustie

Wishaw v Culter

Irvine Vics v Kello

Largs v Luncarty

Vale of Clyde v Darvel

Syngenta v Shettleston

Kennoway v Larkhall

Deveronside v Maybole or Benburb

Kilwinning or Dundee Violet v Bridge of Don Thistle

Irvine Meadow v Buchanhaven Hearts

Cambuslang v Harthill

Cumbernauld v Hurlford

Annbank v Whitletts

Blairgowrie v Stoneywood Parkvale

Ardrossan v Royal Albert

Downfield v Greenock

Arthurlie v Beith

Forfar Albion v Bathgate

Bellshill v Auchinleck Talbot

Forres Thistle v Pollok

Dundee East Craigie v Nairn St Ninian

Ellon v Bo’ness

Kilbirnie v Vale of Leven

Thorniewood v Banks o’Dee

Buckie Rovers v Stoneyburn

Neilston/Yoker v Forth

Burghead Thistle v Lochgelly

Longside v Whitehills

Cumnock v Rossvale

Petershill v Newmains

Thornton Hibs v Rosyth

Hall Russell United v Lochee United

This website is powered by the generosity of readers like you.
Please donate what you can afford to help us keep our communities informed.


In these testing times, your support is more important than ever. Thank you.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More