Home   Sport   Article

Juniors stepping up to the mark at Forres Tennis Club

By Craig Christie

All the trophy winners at the Forres Tennis Club championships.
All the trophy winners at the Forres Tennis Club championships.

COACH Matthew Douglas was a big winner at the Forres Tennis Club championships.

The men's singles final was a contest between two products of the club's coaching programme who went on to take up coaching roles themselves.

Douglas took that very route as did team-mate Jack Tregellas and the pair have emerged as the two star players at Forres.

In a close match, Douglas emerged as the winner and he then teamed up with fellow junior Kaiden Phillips in his maiden championship final in the men's doubles. The young duo took on an adult pairing in Eric Janousek and Kevin O'Connor, who won a tight tie-break for the title. Douglas and Julia Thomas then won the mixed doubles trophy in another tie-break against Matthew Stephen and Joanne Lang.

"It has been great to see the older juniors making their transition into the adult section, a true reflection of the excellent junior programme at the club," said a club spokesperson.

Club championships results:

Under-9 winner: Lucas Carruthers, runner-up: Lily-Anne Dinnes.

Under-12 winner: Austin Deoliveira, runner-up: Matthew Davies.

Under-14 winner: Kaiden Phillips, runner-up: Izaak Hutton.

Under-16 winner: Jamie Fraser, runner-up: Kaiden Phillips.

Most improved player: Austin Deoliveira.

Mens' singles final: Matthew Douglas beat Jack Tregellas.

Ladies' singles final: Megan Stuart-Bass beat Shona Marshall.

Mens' doubles final: Eric Janousek and Kevin O'Connor beat Matthew Douglas and Kaiden Phillips.

Ladies' doubles final: Megan Stuart Bass and Julia Thomas beat Pauline Brown and Shona Marshall.

Mixed doubles final: Julia Thomas and Matthew Douglas beat Joanne Lang and Matthew Stephen.

Vets' doubles final: Pauline Brown and Allen Clark beat Janette Ker and Ian Tregellas.

This site uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site you are agreeing to our use of cookies - Learn More